MLK Honorees: Digital Media Pioneers and Activist


John Gitlitz and Bishop Wayne Powell of Strait Gate Church

Paula Eisenberg and Judy Silberstein










When theLoop launched in 2007, some people called us digital pioneers. But “Paula and Judy,” as they came to  be known, had already been at it in Larchmont for five years, and The Larchmont Gazette would continue for three more.

Around the same time, it was a pivotal period for local immigrants. John Gitlitz would serve as co-president and then president of the Hispanic Resource Center.

Gitlitz and Paula Eisenberg and Judy Silberstein will be the special honorees at the 25th public Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration at 7:30 p.m., Wednesday, January 11th at the Hommocks Middle School Auditorium.

Gitlitz, an associate professor at Purchase College, will receive the annual Martin Luther King, Jr. Award  for carrying on the ideals of equal opportunity championed by Dr. King. A special tribute will also be given to Eisenberg and Silberstein, and the reporters and photographers at the publication before it was suspended in September, 2010.

The Celebration, entitled “Looking Back, Moving Forward,” is hosted by the Larchmont-Mamaroneck Committee on Human Rights, with the help of the Local Summit.

— Article and photos submitted by Harold Wolfson. Additional reporting by Polly Kreisman and Diana Marszalek.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *